ETOPIM is the premier international society for scientists researching all aspects of the science of Composite Materials

Reserve the dates for the 10th International ETOPIM

June 21-26, 2015

Professor David Bergman
Professor Valentin Freilikher

Conference Proceedings - ETOPIM 8 PhysicaB

ETOPIM on Flickr

ETOPIM Members




The next ETOPIM meeting is fast approaching:

ETOPIM 10 ~ June 21-26, 2015

Neveh Ilan, Israel | www | in the hills outside Jerusalem

Main topics will include:

  • Electromagnetic and optical properties of meta-materials
  • Transport and localization in random media
  • Plasmonics
  • Magneto-transport
  • Subwavelength resolution in electromagnetic and acoustic imaging
  • Magneto-optics
  • New types of transport phenomena


Anyone wishing to participate should write a short request by email to the local organizing committee. In it the applicant should indicate whether he or she also wishes to present research results and whether an oral or poster presentation is preferred. A one page abstract of the proposed presentation should be attached. Some of the invited speakers will be selected from among those applicants. Applications for participation, both active (with presentation) and non-active (without presentation) should be submitted before 28 February 2015. Approvals of participation will be sent by 15 March 2015.

Conference proceedings:
Proceedings of the 10th ETOPIM will be published in digital form and will be publicly available to anyone at an appropriate website.

Neveh Ilan is a lovely rural community located in the mountains about 15 km (10 miles) west of the historic capital city Jerusalem. Public bus service to and from Jerusalem is available every hour from the conference hotel and from the main bus terminal in Jerusalem, the trip lasting about 15 minutes. Tel Aviv, the principal commercial city in Israel, is 45 minutes away by car. In the past, Neveh Ilan was an agricultural community near the main Tel Aviv - Jerusalem road. Today it is a rural suburb of Jerusalem, which includes a modern resort hotel where the conference will be held. The conference hotel is fully air conditioned and has a semi-olympic indoor swimming pool. Neveh Ilan also boasts some of the loveliest scenery in the Judaean Mountains. Hikes in the nearby YItzhak Rabin National Park are highly recommended. Further details about the conference site are available by clicking Neveh Ilan Hotel

Although the days will be quite warm (typical maximum is 28-30 Celsius), the humidity is low (typically 30%), the evenings and nights are cool (typical minimum temperature is 18-20). During the day, light summer clothing is recommended; for the evenings, a light sweater is sometimes needed. It never rains in June or July.

Registration and reservations:
Those should be made in advance by all approved participants. Detailed instructions will be sent shortly after 15 March 2015.

Related conference:
Three weeks before ETOPIM 10 the 7th International Conference on Surface Plasmon Photonics (SPP7) will be held in Jerusalem during 31 May - 5 June 2015. More information, as well as pictures of Jerusalem, can be found by clicking the following link: SPP7

Other useful links are noted below

School of Physics & Astronomy, Tel Aviv University Tel Aviv University Department of Physics, Bar-Ilan University Bar-Ilan University
The Israel Science Foundation (ISF) The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities Israeli Ministry of Science, Technology, and Space

ETOPIM 10 - Reserve the dates for the:

10th International ETOPIM | June 21-26, 2015

Neveh Ilan, Israel

Convenor Co-convenors
Professor David Bergman
Tel Aviv University, Israel
Professor Valentin Freilikher
Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Professor Yakov Strelniker
Bar-Ilan University, Israel
International Scientific Committee
Professor David J. Bergman (IL)
Professor Mark Brongersma (US)
Dr Sebastien Guenneau (FR)
Professor Andrey N. Lagarkov (RU)
Professor Ad Lagendijk (NL)
Professor Ulf Leonhardt (US)
Professor Uriel Levy (IL)
Professor Ross McPhedran (AU)
Professor Graeme W. Milton (US)
Professor Meir Orenstein (IL)
Professor Sir John Pendry (UK)
Professor Ping Sheng (HK)
Professor Martin Wegener (DE)