ETOPIM is the premier international society for scientists researching all aspects of the science of Composite Materials

Reserve the dates for the 10th International ETOPIM

June 21-26, 2015

Professor David Bergman
Professor Valentin Freilikher

Conference Proceedings - ETOPIM 8 PhysicaB

ETOPIM on Flickr

ETOPIM Members




presentation of Awards..  

NSFFive student attendees were supported by the NSF, and seven student attendees and one Early Career Researcher were supported by ARNAM. Three prizes for best presentations by an Australian student were sponsored by the University of Sydney, and a prize for the best presentation by an NSF sponsored student was sponsored by ETOPIM7.

Professor Graeme Milton with NSF Prizewinner Zubin Jacob


Recipients of the NSF funding included: Leo Alekseyev, Ruben Bakker, Emilio Castronovo, Daniela Genova, Dentcho Genov, Zubin Jacob, and Yanthe Pearson.


Prize Sydney

The University of Sydney sponsored three prizes for presentations by students working in Australia. These were awarded to Elizabeth Kyriakou, Shannon Orbons and Michelle Rigozzi, and were presented by the University’s Dean of Graduate Studies, Prof. Masud Behnia.


Professor Behnia presenting Elizabeth Kyriakou with her award


Prize-winner Michelle Rigozzi receiving her award




ARNAM awarded $5,500 in support of the ETOPIM7 Conference, specifically to be used for travel support/registrations for students and Early Career Researchers. A call for applications for support was made to eligible students, their supervisors and those who had expressed an interest in attending ETOPIM7. A sub-committee of the Local Organizing Committee then selected the following as recipients for support:

  • Anne Barnett, Macquarie University
  • Laurie Field, The University of Sydney
  • Nadine Harris, The University of Technology, Sydney
  • Daniel Mason, The University of Queensland
  • Stephen Morrison, The Australian National University
  • Thomas Oates, Forschungszentrum Rossendorf, Dresden
  • Shannon Orbons, The University of Melbourne
  • Nicholas Stokes, The University of Technology, Sydney

All of these were students, with the exception of Dr. Thomas Oates, who is an Early Career Researcher.